Civil Registry


The Consulate General of the Kingdom of Morocco in Montreal, draws up , in its capacity as civil registrar (Officier de l’Etat Civil), the contracts and certificates of Moroccan nationals residing in Canada, in the Civil registry, according to Moroccan law.

Moreover, certain relevant services may be offered to nationals residing in Canada in terms of Civil Registry such as the registration of births or deaths of non-residents.

You may choose between the following options for any consular services pertaining to the civil registry :
  • Come in person to the Consulate General in Montreal, along the original copy of your documents,
  • If you reside outside the Greater Montreal Area you may send us the original copies of the required documents by secured mail through Canada Post with an Xpress-post prepaid return envelope so that we may send back your Family Book to your home address. Please note that we do not require the originals of the Permanent Resident Card, National ID Card, Passport and Consular ID, you may only send us a copy.

Family Book

The Family book (Livretd’Etat Civil) is an official document, gathering civil registry documentarion pertaining to a family. It is issued in the Consulate general of Montreal only in the case of the registration of a birth to Moroccan male spouse born in Canada and registered in the civil registry of the Consulate and not a holder of a previous Family Book. His wife, divorcee or his authorized representative may only receive a certified copy.

The male spouse born outside Canada but residing in the country has to submit a request to the Civil registrar of his birthplace in Morocco or with the relevant Consulate or Embassy in order to obtain a Family Book. If need be, he may designate an individual that he mandates by power of attorney procuration to submit the request on his behalf.

The Family Book has to be brought forth to the Consulate General for any modification pertaining to the civil registry or the family status of the family book holder or of a member of his family. Any changes will be done in accordance with Moroccan Law (art. 148 of the Code de Procedure Civile).

In case of justified loss or deterioration of your Family Book, you may request a duplicate from the civil registrar (Officer d’état civil) of your birthplace.

To establish your Family Book, you will need to submit the following documents :
  1. « Family book request form »: please fill an print (Any form submitted to the Consulate must necessarily be signed in front of a Consulate Officier or a Comissionner for Oaths);
  2. Copy of consular ID of the both spouses (only for Moroccan nationals) ;
  3. Copy of the CIN/CNIE of both spouses (only for Moroccan nationals) ;
  4. Original copy of the marriage contract certificate and one (1) photocopy ;
  5. For the husband : One (1) integral copy of the birth certificate OR one (1) birth certificate;
  6. For the wife: One (1) integral copy of the birth certificate.
    For wives of foreign nationality: One (1) birth certificate with the mention of the mother and father’s names;
  7. Two (2) recent color photos of the husband ( passport format 35mmx45mm) ;
  8. One (1) attestation of employment of the husband (if employed) ;
  9. Attestation of schooling OR one (1) photocopy of a study permit (if husband Is a student).
  10. « Fees » must be paid in cash or by bank order made payable to the «Consulate of Morocco». Money orders from Canada Post, Western Union or Money Transfer as well as personalized cheques are not accepted.


Birth Certificate

The Consulate General can, in its capacity as civil registrar (Officier de l’Etat Civil), issue full copies or extracts of birth certificates that are recorded in the civil registry of the Consulate General in Montreal to the following individuals:
  1. Main demander ;
  2. His ascendants ;
  3. His descendants ;
  4. His spouse ;
  5. His guardian ;
  6. Or any individual mandated by proxy.
The consulate General in Montreal issues birth certificates to individuals born in Canada and provides Moroccan nationals born outside Canada with individual registry datasheets (Fiche individuelled’Etat Civil). This is only upon presentation of the Family Book or of a birth certificate in Arabic and French, regardless of their date of issuance. (Even if it is old or expired).

The individual registry datasheet (Fiche individuelled’Etat civil) holds the same legal authority has the birth certificate and can be used as an alternative, unless its holder wants to establish the following documents :
  • National ID Card (CNIE) ;
  • Biometric passport;
  • Moroccan nationality certificate;
  • Validation of information held in the civil registry before the law and courts.
The aforementioned civil registry documents are valid for a period of three (3) months from the date of issuance.


Child Registration in the civil registry (Registre de l’Etat Civil)

Any newborn who holds a Moroccan nationality and whose birth occurred on Canadian Territory, must be declared and registered with the Consulate General in Montreal by his close of kin in the following order: father or mother, testamentary guardian, brother or nephew.

If the registrant (father or mother) is unable to come to the Consulate General to sign the Birth record Book, he or she must imperatively designate an authorized representative. The representative must bring all required documents with him and indicate his identity in the « birth registration form »).

The birth registration must be backed up by a Birth certificate issued by the local Canadian Authorities (Registry). If parents are of Islamic confession, they must also bring a copy of their marriage contract to attest the legal legitimacy of their union.

If the birth of a non Canadian resident occurs during a sea or air journey towards Canada, the declaration of birth has to take place at the Consulate General of the Kingdome of Morocco in Montreal or at with the Registrar of the place of residence in Morocco. This has to take place thirty (30) days from the date of arrival on Canadian territory.

The first name chosen for the newborn must be Moroccan and must neither be a last name nor a compound name of over two names, nor the name of a city, village, or tribe, and must not be offensive or inimical to the maintenance of public order (law 35-95). If you are unsure about the name of your newborn, you may consult registry services.

The given name must precede the last name during the registration on the registry and should not contain any moniker or title such as ‘Moulay’, ‘Sidi’, or ‘Lalla’.

Please prepare the following documents for the registration of a newborn :  
  1. « Birth registration form »: please fill and print (Any form submitted to the Consulate must necessarily be signed in front of a Consulate Officier or a Comissionner for Oaths);
  2. Copy of consular ID of both parents (only for Moroccan nationals) ;
  3. Copy of National Identity cards of both parents (only for Moroccan nationals) ;
  4. Original copy of marriage contracts + One (1) photocopy ;
  5. Original copy birth certificate of the newborn issued by the Canadian registry service and mentioning the father and mother’s name + one (1) copy ;
  6. Family Book;
  7. One (1) birth certificate of the father, in French and Arabic;
  8. One (1) birth certificate of the mother, in French and Arabic ;
  9. « Fees » must be paid in cash or by bank order made payable to the « Consulate of Morocco ». Money orders from Canada Post, Western Union or Money Transfer as well as personalized cheques are not accepted.

Etat-Civil


Le Consul Général du Royaume du Maroc à Montréal, en sa qualité d’Officier de l’État Civil, dresse, conformément aux lois et règlements marocains, les actes de l’Etat Civil concernant les ressortissants marocains résidant au Canada.

Par ailleurs, pour les ressortissants marocains de passage au Canada, certaines prestations spécifiques peuvent également être fournies en matière de l’État Civil telles que la déclaration de naissance ou de décès de non-résidents.

Pour toutes vos demandes de prestations concernant l’état civil, vous devez choisir entre les deux options suivantes :
  • Vous présentez personnellement  au Consulat Général à Montréal muni des originaux des documents,
  • Nous envoyer, par courrier postal sécurisé de Poste Canada si vous résidez dans une zone hors du Grand Montréal, tous les originaux des documents  demandés (à l’exception du Passeport, Carte d’Identité Nationale, carte consulaire, carte de résidence qui doivent être remplacés par des copies) avec une enveloppe retour Xpress-post de Postes-Canada, prépayée pour l’envoi de votre Livret de famille à l’adresse de votre domicile.

Livret de Famille

Le livret de famille est un document officiel consistant en un recueil d'extraits d'actes d'état civil relatifs à une famille. Il est délivré au Consulat Général à Montréal uniquement à la suite de l’enregistrement d’une naissance, à l’époux marocain né au Canada, inscrit sur les registres de l’Etat Civil dudit Consulat et ne possédant  pas l’ancien Livret d’identité et de l’Etat Civil. L’épouse, la divorcée ou le mandataire légal n’ont droit qu’à une copie certifiée conforme.

Pour l’époux né hors du Canada et qui y réside il doit faire la demande pour avoir un livret de famille à l’officier d’Etat Civil de son lieu de naissance au Maroc ou l’Ambassade ou Consulat de son lieu de naissance à l’étranger. En cas d’empêchement, il doit mandater par procuration une tierce personne afin d’en déposer et d’en effectuer le retrait en votre lieu et place.

Le Livret de Famille marocain doit être présenté au Consulat Général en vue d’y porter toute modification intervenant dans l’Etat Civil ou la situation familiale de son titulaire ou d’un membre de sa Famille, et ce, conformément à la législation marocaine en vigueur en la matière (art. 148 du Code de Procédure Civile).

En cas de perte justifiée ou de détérioration de votre Livret de Famille, vous pouvez demander un duplicata auprès de l'Officier de l'Etat Civil du lieu de votre naissance.

Pour vous faire faire établir un Livret de Famille, vous devez joindre à votre demande, les documents requis, indiqués ci-après :
  1. La « Demande du Livret de Famille »: imprimée et complétée;
  2. Copie des cartes d’immatriculation des deux conjoints (uniquement pour les marocains) ;
  3. Copie des cartes d’identité Nationales (CIN/CNIE) des deux conjoints (uniquement pour les marocains) ;
  4. L'original de l’Acte de mariage (Adoulaire ou Civil à condition qu’il soit homologué) + une (1) photocopie;
  5. Pour l’époux : Une (1) Copie Intégrale de d’Acte de naissance ou bien un (1) Extrait d’Acte de naissance;
  6. Pour l’épouse : Une (1) Copie Intégrale de l'Acte de naissance de l’épouse (et non pas l’extrait d'acte de naissance).
    Pour les épouses de nationalité étrangère, un (1) Extrait d'Acte de naissance avec mention obligatoire de la filiation: nom du père et de la mère;
  7. (2) photos en couleur récentes, de l’époux (format passeport 3,5 cm / 4,5 cm) ;
  8. (1) Attestation de travail de l’époux (le cas échéant) ;
  9. (1) Attestation de scolarité ou bien une (1) photocopie du Permis d'études (pour l'époux étudiant).
  10. « Paiement des droits de chancellerie et frais d'actes et de formalité ». Paiement en espèce ou par chèque certifié, libellé à l’ordre du « Consulat Général du Maroc ». Les mandats postaux de Postes-Canada, ceux de Western Union ou de Money Transfert ainsi que les chèques personnels ne sont pas acceptés.


Extrait d’acte de naissance

Le Consul Général, en qualité d’Officier de l’État Civil, peut délivrer des copies intégrales ou des extraits d’actes de naissance consignés sur les Registres d'Etat Civil tenus au Consulat Général à Montréal au:
  1. demandeur (objet de l'acte) ;
  2. ses ascendants ;
  3. ses descendants ;
  4. son conjoint - à condition que le lien du mariage existe –
  5. son tuteur,
  6. son tuteur testamentaire ou datif ou à toute personne mandatée par lui à cet effet.
Le Consulat Général à Montréal délivre les extraits d’acte de naissance aux personnes nées au Canada, et délivre les fiches individuelles de l’État Civil aux ressortissants marocains nés hors du Canada, et ce, sur présentation du Livret de Famille marocain ou d'un Extrait d'acte de naissance dûment complété en langues arabe et française, quelle que soit sa date de délivrance (même ancien et périmé).

La Fiche Individuelle d’Etat Civil a la même force légale que l’Extrait d'acte de naissance et en tient lieu, sauf si le demandeur souhaite se faire établir :
  • la Carte Nationale d’Identité Électronique (CNIE) ;
  • le Passeport biométrique;
  • le Certificat de Nationalité marocaine;
  • ou bien pour valider les faits de l’État Civil devant la justice.
La validité des copies intégrales, des extraits d’Etat Civil et de la Fiche individuelle d’Etat Civil est de trois (3) mois à compter de la date de leur émission.


Déclaration et inscription des naissances sur les Registres de l’Etat Civil

Tout nouveau né de nationalité marocaine, dont la naissance est intervenue sur le territoire canadien, devra être déclarée obligatoirement auprès du Consulat Général de Montréal par ses proches dans l’ordre suivant: Le père ou la mère, le tuteur testamentaire, le frère ou le neveu.

Si le déclarant (le Père ou la Mère) est dans l’impossibilité de se présenter au Consulat Général pour signer le cahier de déclaration des naissances, il devra désigner impérativement pour ce faire, un mandataire muni de tous les documents requis (l’identité du mandataire devant être spécifiquement indiquée dans la partie réservée à cet effet sur la « demande de déclaration de naissance »).

La déclaration du nouveau-né doit être appuyée par un Certificat de Naissance délivré par l’Autorité locale canadienne (Bureau d'Etat Civil) et d’une copie de l’acte de mariage lorsqu’il s’agit de Marocains musulmans, qui atteste de la légalité de l’union dont ladite naissance est issue.

Lorsque la naissance d’un nouveau-né marocain (non-résident) a lieu au cours d’un voyage par voie maritime ou aérienne vers le Canada, la déclaration de naissance doit être faite auprès du Consulat Général du Royaume du Maroc à Montréal ou auprès de l’Officier de l’État Civil du lieu de résidence au Maroc, et ce dans un délai de trente (30) jours à compter de la date d’arrivée.

Le prénom choisi pour le nouveau-né doit avoir un caractère marocain et ne doit être ni un nom de Famille ni un nom composé de plus de deux prénoms, ni un nom de ville, de village ou de tribu; il ne doit pas être non plus de nature à porter atteinte aux bonnes mœurs ou à l’Ordre Public (loi 35-95). En cas de doute sur le prénom à choisir, il serait souhaitable de consulter le service de l’Etat Civil avant de donner un prénom au nouveau né, pouvant faire l’objet d’un rejet.

Le prénom déclaré doit précéder le nom de Famille lors de l’inscription sur le Registre de l’État Civil et ne doit comporter aucun sobriquet ou titre tel que « Moulay », « Sidi », ou « Lalla ».

Les pièces nécessaires pour faire une demande de déclaration et inscription d’une naissance sur les registre de l’Etat civil sont :  
  1. La « demande de déclaration de naissance »: imprimée et complétée;
  2. Copie des cartes d’immatriculation des deux Parents (uniquement pour les marocains) ;
  3. Copie des cartes d’identité Nationales (CIN/CNIE) des deux parents (uniquement pour les marocains) ;
  4. l'original de l’Acte de mariage (impératif) + une (1) photocopie ;
  5. l’original du Certificat de Naissance du nouveau-né (et non pas déclaration de naissance) délivré par le Service d'Etat-Civil canadien, avec mention obligatoire de la filiation - nom du père et de la mère -, + une (1) copie ;
  6. Le Livret de Famille ou Livret d'Identité et de l’État Civil (le cas échéant);
  7. (1) extrait d’acte de naissance du père, rédigé en langues arabe et française;
  8. (1) extrait d’acte de naissance de la mère, rédigé en langues arabe et française;
  9. « Paiement des droits de chancellerie et frais d'actes et de formalité ». Paiement en espèce ou par chèque certifié, libellé à l’ordre du « Consulat Général du Maroc ». Les mandats postaux de Postes-Canada, ceux de Western Union ou de Money Transfert ainsi que les chèques personnels ne sont pas acceptés.